Feeling guilty for not coming in. (Am I wrong?)

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by ColeTrain2731, Nov 18, 2020.

1. ColeTrain2731

ColeTrain2731 New Member

Nov 18, 2020

First time posting a thread, and still something of a rookie, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. I also apologize if this comes off as ranting. I just want to get this off my chest, and am probably anxious about the whole thing.

For context, I am in my second year as a sub. I am usually called in to one of three different schools with regularity. I'm still new, but I am starting to be recognized by the staff whenever I'm called in. Some of the students even recognize and light up whenever I show up to sub for the day, which warms my heart.

I also work three different jobs, including being a substitute teacher. The other two jobs are tutoring at Sylvan Learning Centre, and a job in retail (one that was deemed essential when Covid hit). It's not all that rare to be working two of the three jobs on the same day. Days where I actually don't have to work at all are rarer still.

With such a busy schedule, I have on occasion had to decline a subbing assignment, and at times I have felt really awful when I do so. I find myself wondering if I am wrong to be declining opportunities, as I want to one day be a full time teacher. To clarify, it's not that I dislike teaching (I LOVE teaching elementary, especially the more challenging classes!) and more I am either unavailable due to my other jobs, or I am so drained that I can't bring myself to go in.

But then the guilt kicks in, and I keep wondering if I should have said yes.