Feeling disappointed in myself

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by jeepgirlsrock, Jan 8, 2019.

1. jeepgirlsrock

jeepgirlsrock Rookie

Jan 8, 2019

Hey all, hope you’re getting back in the swing after a much needed break. I’m a 4th year teacher. Taught pre-k for 3 and was moved to a new campus in 1st grade here in Texas. I worked in an office for 8 years and decided to get my Masters and become a teacher. I’m feeling overwhelmed and under qualified and LOST. So very lost. I messed up my DRA scores (2nd time using them) and was told by my P my scores were “too high” based on their growth from the beginning of the year (went from a 3 to an 8). So I had my team come in and sure enough, I had to move my kids a few levels down. I’m disheartened and feel embarrassed, but glad I could catch them before report cards went out. Swallowed my dignity with that but not sure how to get my students reading scores up. Luckily, I have a Literacy coach coming in to help soon.

I’m just feeling like this probably isn’t a good fit for me and could use some encouragement at this time!

3. jeepgirlsrock

jeepgirlsrock Rookie

Jan 8, 2019

Let me add that my P is on me about everything so I feel like growing pains aren’t really a good thing in this grade level

4. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Jan 9, 2019

This isn't really helpful but I absolutely despise DRA. Despite what its supporters say, it's completely subjective and scores can vary widely depending on who's testing the students and the environment in which the test is being conducted (quiet hallway, chatty classroom, or literacy room).

You're a new teacher in that you're learning all these things that were not done in Pre-K. Your principal should understand that! Try not to beat yourself up.

5. Kendall2018

Kendall2018 Rookie

Sep 14, 2019