Feeling Desperate

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by l8ybugmom, Jul 17, 2011.

1. l8ybugmom

l8ybugmom Groupie

Jul 17, 2011

Here it is mid-Julyand no job. I try to keep positive but after a year of being unemployed, it is hard to be positive. I have also decided that I cannot go through this anymore. I got my degree in 2008 and I wasn't abel to get a job until after the school year started in 2009 in a not so great situation (I was my students' third teacher). My P was incredibly hard on me and eventually non-renewed me. So all of last year I look for work and couldn't find it. I even started looking into another state. Nothing. I've gotten close...narrowed down to 2 candidates but I never can nail the job. This year, I have even more pressure since I am now divorced. Every summer for the last three summers, I've pounded the pavement and put my life and children's lives on hold to find a job. This is so heartbreaking and I know I'm not alone. Just feeling desperate to find a job...

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 17, 2011

OK, deep breaths and a virtual hug.

It's Sunday morning. A good time to stop and breathe as the kids sleep in, and a chance to re-evaluate.

Narrowed down to 2 candidates in this job market means you have what it takes.

Here's what I would do in your shoes:
    - take a look at your cover letter. Make sure that it's personal-- that YOU shine through. What many of us here (including me) recommend is that it include at least one success story. Tell me the story of one of your students who is better off for having had you as his/her teacher.

- I'm assuming your resume is already wonderful, or you would never have made it to top 2.

- Now it's time to examine where you've looked. Once your cover letter and resume are good to go, here's what I want you to do: