Feeling burnt out

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Geologygirl, Apr 10, 2015.

1. Geologygirl

Geologygirl Comrade

Apr 10, 2015

I am feeling very burnt out right now. I am a new teacher which is stressful enough, but I am also 6 months pregnant, and have been having ongoing problems with parents when I give a kid a consequence. The parents are honestly starting to drive me a little crazy. Their kids are always innocent no matter what they did or I saw, and I am always wrong or lying about their kid. I even had one parent try to get me fired over giving her son a detention. They said I was lying, their kid was innocent, even though they admit in the letter they wrote to try to get me fired their kid did the thing I gave him the detention for.

It is getting to the point where I am afraid to give any kid a consequence because the parent will complain and half the admin will bow down to the parent. The other half are great, but unfortunately you never know which admin you will get.

I am hoping this will get better next year.....as I gain experience but..... right now I kind of feel horrible.

Does anyone know of any uplifting books or websites where they helped you get over burnout?

3. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Apr 11, 2015

I would read books on classroom management because it always made me feel like I was going to improve my craft and not deal with certain issues anymore.

In your case, the only real cure is a good admin. Even if the admin bows to the parent eventually, as long as he or she takes your side seriously, and then takes control from there, that's all that's really needed. How many parents are giving these issues?

4. daisycakes

daisycakes Companion

Apr 11, 2015