Feeling a little overwhelmed with writing

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by lnewbigging, Nov 10, 2006.

1. lnewbigging

lnewbigging Companion

Nov 10, 2006

I am a first year teacher and I am teaching writing in a grade three classroom. I want my students to go through the writing process, ( pre-writing, drafting, editing, revising, and publishing) but I am unsure of how much I should intervene and how much I should just let them go. I want them to be able to write anything they want and to be real writers, but I also want them to grow and improve as writers.

My question is how do you conduct your writer's workshop? If you use 6 traits, how do you teach them the traits and how do you make sure they are using them in their writing? how do you start the year (I know it's November, but I started in October (mat leave position):) )

I have read Lucy Calkins the Art of Teaching Writing, and 6+1 traits for primary classrooms, but these are not as step by step practical as I need hem to be.

Thanks in advance for your help

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 10, 2006

The 'Units of Study' by Lucy Calkins are great. Have you seen those?

4. lnewbigging

lnewbigging Companion

Nov 10, 2006

Yes, but our school does not have access to them or the budget to buy them. :(

5. Miss Kirby

Miss Kirby Fanatic

Nov 10, 2006

Check out the Four Blocks Minilessons for Writer's Workshop. I'm using it in first grade and I love it. They have it for different grade levels.

6. halpey1

halpey1 Groupie

Nov 10, 2006

I had similar struggles with my 2nd graders... I use the 6 traits book lessons - using the read alouds and such.