Feel like I'm a first year teacher again!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by yellowdaisies, Sep 3, 2014.

1. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Sep 3, 2014

I taught 1st grade for two years in SoCal...then up and moved to NorCal this summer, where I am now teaching 5th. Don't get me wrong, I love my new school, coworkers, and students, but I am feeling homesick for my old familiar, school, coworkers, and especially grade level! Things were so much easier when I felt like I knew what I was doing!! Most of the time I think I like upper grades better, until I remember that in 1st grade I felt comfortable and confident! :dizzy::(

Has anyone else experienced this with a school and/or grade level change??

3. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Sep 3, 2014

I think your confidence as teacher who has been teaching for two years should definitely transfer over. At the very least, you have experience working with students and know where they're coming from. I'd look into the positives and what experiences you're bringing with you that will help you in 5th grade. Good luck!

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Sep 3, 2014

I was just thinking the other day that in many ways, this feels like my first year. I hate asking for information about school routines/procedures. I don't like not having all the answers....

Luckily, since I did 5th for 5 years, 6th isn't a stretch for me in a lot of ways. The attitudes from the girls though... whew! I thought they could be bad in 5th!

5. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Sep 3, 2014

lol! So your experience isn't too far off from the current position. The newness will wear off definitely and you're not new to the profession so you have a lot more knowledge than you think you do.