Feel bad getting a sub...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Shiloh17, Apr 12, 2015.

1. Shiloh17

Shiloh17 Companion

Apr 12, 2015

I am in my second year of teaching and I have not missed one day of school. I feel so bad calling in sick. I was in the hospital due to a infection in my stomach, the Dr. told me to take off on Monday and Tuesday. I have not missed one day of school. I feel badly...I know this is very silly. Wondering if anyone has ever felt this way?

Thanks..

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Apr 12, 2015

I don't know any dedicated teacher who has not felt guilty calling in. Your students will be fine. You just work on getting better!

4. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Apr 12, 2015

I hate calling in sick, too, but it sounds like you have a very legitimate reason. Take care so you can be at your best on Wednesday. :)

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 12, 2015

Don't feel bad. Call in sick. Take care of yourself.

6. Rhesus

Rhesus Comrade

Apr 12, 2015

I often feel bad or self-conscious when I call out sick too, which Idon't do too often. It doesn't help that my department colleagues are judgmental and always make comments whenever someone is out.

Oh well. Sometimes it's necessary.

7. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Apr 12, 2015

I feel bad when I call in, also, but you gotta do what you gotta do.

8. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Apr 12, 2015