Fed up with behavior(long)

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by luvs2teach0708, Dec 21, 2008.

1. luvs2teach0708

luvs2teach0708 New Member

Dec 21, 2008

Hello. This is my first time posting on this forum. I am at my wits end with my school and hoping that some of you will provide suggestions for how to best address these issues.

The behavior in my school has reached an all time low...or should I say high? I teach elementary school in a suburban area, but my coworkers and I feel like we teach in the inner city based on some of the things that go on. Students who yell at teachers, are physically violent with other students, or outrageously disruptive in the classroom rarely see any sort of consequence from the administration. In fact, we are strongly encouraged NOT to send our students to the office and handle these issues on our own. A great deal of instruction time is being lost, and the students who need the most attention are suffering because of these "looked over" behaviors. Not to mention how much these children themselves miss out on due to frequently being asked to leave and go to a "buddy room." (We are apparently very big in the "buddy room" idea.)

On a daily basis I feel like walking out of the building and just dealing with the consequences later. I so badly want to make a difference in the lives of children, but I feel that so much of my energy is being consumed by classroom management and the teaching goes out of the window. My lessons are planned the morning of because I am so drained in the evenings and all I want to do is get out of the building. I basically just do what I did in previous years without much change. I really feel like I am not doing my best to gear instruction to the needs of my students because there are so many other needs that should be addressed.