Fear of having no professional references

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by dl101, May 30, 2016.

1. dl101

dl101 Rookie

May 30, 2016

I'm applying for a new position in my state after resigning, and I'm asking around for references from my principals and assistant principals in the three schools I teach in, as well as my program coordinator.

My P and AP from one of my 3 schools, as well as my program coordinator, were not comfortable in serving as references for me. They are denying my request because I didn't show enough growth as a first-year teacher, which led to a non-renewal.

Now I'm starting to lose confidence. What if the admin at my other two schools refuse too? Would I be completely out of luck? Pretty much everywhere I'm applying for requires a reference from a current supervisor. The only reference I have right now is my student teaching supervisor from college where I graduated from last year.

Any suggestions are welcome. Thank you.

3. ChildWhisperer

ChildWhisperer Groupie

May 30, 2016

Ask the other 2 schools first before you lose hope. Then come back here :)
    They might have seen you differently

4. dl101

dl101 Rookie

May 30, 2016

I'm wondering if I can get them to at least provide me with neutral references and letters of recommendation, even for those who denied the request. How useful are neutral references in terms of applying to new positions?

5. IloveSF

IloveSF Rookie

May 30, 2016

Have you asked fellow teachers? I know they're not admins, but it could at least be a start. I had someone tell me once to include as many LORs as you can, but I understand the worry. When I was finished with student teaching, the principal didn't give me a LOR because she never came in and saw me teach. Actually, I asked, and she just never responded. It was a mess.

6. dl101

dl101 Rookie

May 31, 2016

Two of my three school admins have now turned down my request for a reference. Things don't look so good.

janlee likes this.
  7. vickilyn