Favorite way to teach letter sounds?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by TeacherGrl7, Sep 27, 2009.

1. TeacherGrl7

TeacherGrl7 Devotee

Sep 27, 2009

Every year I teach letter sounds differently, and I've never found anything I loved.

What is your favorite way to teach and reinforce letter sounds?

3. tracykaliski

tracykaliski Connoisseur

Sep 28, 2009

Since I'm a montessori teacher, we use sandpaper letters. The children trace the letters and say the sound as they trace them. I love it! It's definitely not a large group activity though, or even a small group activity.

4. TeacherGrl7

TeacherGrl7 Devotee

Sep 28, 2009

I like the sandpaper letters! I use a super cheap version of that- I write the letter on paper with a marker, then trace it over with glue. When the glue dries, it's raised above the paper. Not MUCH, but enough that it gives a tactile sensation.

5. LvToyFoxTerrier

LvToyFoxTerrier Rookie

Sep 28, 2009

I use Zoo-phonics. The kids love it. I also have a letter of the week pocket chart that really reinforces each letter sound many different ways.

6. MissJennifer

MissJennifer Companion

Sep 28, 2009

I am using ZooPhonics this year too - and the kids are LOVING it!! LvToyFoxTerrier - where in Oregon are you??

7. tracykaliski

tracykaliski Connoisseur

Sep 28, 2009

That's awesome!

8. LvToyFoxTerrier

LvToyFoxTerrier Rookie

Sep 28, 2009

My school is in Turner, I live in Salem.

9. MissJennifer

MissJennifer Companion

Sep 28, 2009

Wow, small world! I grew up near Marion! (My parents address is actually Turner) We lived between Jefferson & Marion. I'm in Eugene now. :)

10. A_Pre-K_Teacher

A_Pre-K_Teacher Rookie

Sep 28, 2009

I also do Zoo Phonics! Wouldn't do it any other way, the students are so receptive to it.

11. TeacherGrl7

TeacherGrl7 Devotee

Sep 28, 2009

Can anyone offer info on Zoo Phonics? I've heard of it but never experienced it. Is it something I would need to buy?