Favorite Teacher Movie

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by kellzy, Apr 18, 2018.

1. kellzy

kellzy Comrade

Apr 18, 2018

What's yours and why?

For me it's Mr. Holland's Opus. I was the band/orchestra ultra geek during high school. I ended up being personal friends with the band and orchestra teachers once I grew up and was no longer a student, and as a student I remember liking it because instruments, and my teachers loved it, and we would watch it on occasion in school with the music teachers when we had a free period.
    As a teacher I love it because of the character arch of Mr. Holland realizing his actual dream was what he had always done.
    I know a lot of teacher movies are irritating because they're not super realistic, but if you had to pick one, which would you?

Master Pre-K likes this.
  3. rpan

rpan Cohort

Apr 18, 2018

I watched Dangerous Minds as a kid and decided teaching was what I wanted to do as a career.
    Another movie (not so much teaching in a classroom but coaching) is Remember the Titans and McFarland. The coaches made a difference in difficult times which is inspiring to me. When I get burnt out, I like watching these movies to remind myself why I signed up to be a teacher.

Last edited: Apr 18, 2018
  4. Master Pre-K

Master Pre-K Virtuoso

Apr 19, 2018

I also enjoyed Mr. Holland’s Opus. It gave a realistic viewpoint of a man’s desire to provide for his family. It portrayed a chronogical insight to a part of history I could relate to. A touching account of parents dealing with a child’s disability. A painful reality of how tables turn when kids become adults. Policies out rank common sense. And even leaders can be human and show emotion and compassion.

Kindergarten Cop is #2 on my list. At the end of the day we silently wish to be that P. She knew that parent was a jerk, and needed to be put in his place. Arnold was perfect for that role. He got those kids into shape, and earned their respect.