Facts behind recent CA shortage headlines?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by MacGuffin, Oct 27, 2014.

1. MacGuffin

MacGuffin Companion

Oct 27, 2014

There has been a huge glut of teachers in nearly all specialties in the whole state of California for years now. All of a sudden there are a few news articles the past few weeks claiming there is a "shortage." I am a credentialed teacher in CA in several subjects who hasn't been looking for work in K-12 for a few years, so I am curious to hear any first-hand accounts from folks who have looked this season, and found it easier than in the past or just as difficult as ever, or someone who may know the hiring numbers of different districts. I don't believe for a second that there is a "shortage" all of a sudden, and of course subject area matters as always, but if there is indeed evidence there is less of a glut than there has been, perhaps I will throw my hat in the ring again for next year. Thanks.

3. Jen84

Jen84 Companion

Oct 28, 2014

I had heard that California teachers had developed a bad reputation (budget cuts, bad economy, etc.) and therefore, not as many people were going into the profession. With older teachers retiring, they are saying there are not as many new teachers available to take their spot. I have no idea if this is true, it is just what I have heard. Although I will say that I had more interviews this season and ended up with two offers.

4. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Oct 28, 2014

I have been hearing for years and years (since I was still a kid myself in school) about the number of retirees and a consequence shortage of teachers in California (where I was born and raised my whole life). I have yet to see it and certainly don´t believe it.

5. MacGuffin

MacGuffin Companion

Oct 29, 2014