Facebook Pics of Students

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by scienceteach, Nov 4, 2011.

1. scienceteach

scienceteach New Member

Nov 4, 2011

I'm a high school chemistry teacher and wanted to post a picture of me with my students doing experiments on my own personal facebook...is that okay?

3. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Nov 4, 2011

Not if the students are in the picture.

4. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Nov 4, 2011

Our district doesn't allow us to do that. We can only post pictures on district sponsored sites and only if their parents have signed a consent form.

I think they worry that someone may take your pictures and use them in some way beyond the parents/students' knowledge. There is also an argument that it's a violation of privacy.

5. scienceteach

scienceteach New Member

Nov 4, 2011

Noone is going to see the pictures on my facebook profile except for close family and friends

6. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Nov 4, 2011

Again, it wouldn't be in my district because it's not a district website. Does your district have an official policy? If not, maybe run it by your department chair or principal.

7. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 4, 2011

It doesn't matter who else could see the pictures.

Unless you have written permission to post them online, you can't.

8. scienceteach

scienceteach New Member

Nov 4, 2011

Who do you get the written permission from?

9. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Nov 4, 2011

10. scienceteach

scienceteach New Member

Nov 4, 2011

So if i want to post pics of me with my high school class doing experiments on my own personal private facebook- i have to get written consent from parents?

11. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Nov 4, 2011

Yes. If you are using pictures of students you need parental consent.

12. HWilson

HWilson Comrade

Nov 4, 2011