Facebook friends with students?

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by TxMaThTeAcHeR, Jan 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TxMaThTeAcHeR

TxMaThTeAcHeR Rookie

Jan 26, 2011

Just curious about what your schools policy is? I never see this as a good thing.. I am a high school teacher so I get "friended' all the time, but always decline...

3. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Jan 26, 2011

There isn't a school policy, but we have been encouraged to explore how to use the site to communicate with parents using our professional account.

4. monsieurteacher

monsieurteacher Aficionado

Jan 26, 2011

No! I had one of my second graders today tell ne I should get Facebook so I could play Cityville. I was not about to tell him that I am already on Facebook!

Forget the possible inappropriateness of friending a student on Facebook, I just wouldn't be able to stand the spelling and grammar!!!

5. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Jan 26, 2011

Same here, Just Me. Many of the teachers on our staff have a page, as does our principal, and many of our students our "friends". We had a whole (voluntary) inservice on how to sort "friends" into groups and protect settings, etc. Our district trusts us to act as professionals.

6. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jan 26, 2011

I have a Facebook, but have absolutely NO students on it. If I'm friended by one, I always decline.

7. thirdgradebuzz

thirdgradebuzz Comrade

Jan 26, 2011

I don't decline them, but I sort them to a group that is not allowed to see my wall or post to it, or tagged pictures of me. They only have access to my info page, where I can control the information that appears 100%.

8. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jan 26, 2011