Fabric bullitin boards, any tips?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by heavens54, Aug 19, 2014.

1. heavens54

heavens54 Connoisseur

Aug 19, 2014

The paper at our school is old and brittle and faded. What do the teachers do with this paper? I'm at a new school/district this year...Come to find out they all use fabric. I've never done this before. I like the look. Any tips you can offer on how to do this? How to cut? Any don'ts? Help, because I will be spending the entire upcoming weekend on this new project.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 19, 2014

Depending on your bb size, you can use a bed sheet and staple it.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Aug 19, 2014

I preferred the stretch knit fabric because if I made a mistake in cutting, it was forgiving. I kept a navy blue fabric for a couple of years and loved it. It never wrinkled or showed any marks and the staples came out easily.

5. comaba

comaba Cohort

Aug 19, 2014

I agree, stretch fabric is easy to use. Just don't buy the super stretchy fabric. I bought some designed for swim suits once and it was horrible to put up! A little stretch is nice.

Most of my fabric is not stretchy though, and it's still pretty easy to put up.

Buy a little larger than you need, put it up, then cut the excess from around the bulletin board. You'll be able to reuse it every year. Or, if your district doesn't require bare boards at the end of the year, it will last many years.

As far as patterns, I've seen some wild fabric on boards. It's eye-catching, but any message or student work gets lost in the pattern. Just something to consider. I use solids and small or subtle patterns.

Have fun! You'll really like your boards when you're finished!

6. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Aug 19, 2014

I agree with that. Some of the fabrics are cute, but I prefer the solid, dark color.

7. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Aug 19, 2014

This is awesome advice!