Extremely Overwhelmed!!

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by christine89, Jul 11, 2011.

1. christine89

christine89 Companion

Jul 11, 2011

Hi
    I'm a first-year teacher and I'll be teaching combined preschool/kindergarten. The preschool is half-day and K is full-day. I just went and picked up all my teacher's editions today and I'm on planning overload. Plus, this is the first year the preschool has been combined so I have all that to figure into the planning. I'm wondering what the best way to do that is and it's basically up to me to figure that out.
    There's just a lot to plan... Math, Reading, Language, Phonics, Handwriting, Science, Social Studies, Art, etc. I'm feeling really overwhelmed and not sure where to start. Any advice? I haven't started planning yet, just looking through the books so I'm basically at square one here.
    Thanks!

3. mrsrooney

mrsrooney Rookie

Jul 11, 2011

That's a tough situation but I'm sure you'll do well. To me that is a ridiculous split grade but you have to work with it and make the best of it.

Are there more preschool and kindergarten classes in your school so you are getting the high preschoolers and the lower kinders and they will be closer in ability and skill levels? In the reality of all classrooms you are going to have a wide range of abilities anyway so it's best to be able to differentiate right from the get go and set the tone for your career. I would see if you can take a workshop or go to a conference on Differentiated Instruction over the course of the year. SDE (Staff Development for Educators) is a good company that does workshops and conferences and I have enjoyed all that I've attended.