Experienced Teachers NO Jobs!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by vsimpkins, Apr 28, 2013.

1. vsimpkins

vsimpkins Comrade

Apr 28, 2013

I am an experienced teacher and I have had several reject letters and I feel that they only want fresh outs to pay them cheaper. Don't understand and have been seeking a job for a while. Trying to stay positive, but it is difficult. Any suggestions???

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 28, 2013

Are you willing to relocate? There are many jobs in Vegas.

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Apr 28, 2013

Everything I find wants an experienced teacher, but they will only start them on step 1.

How many years of experience do you have?

5. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Apr 28, 2013

I was wondering how many years you have too. A couple of years would probably put you at an advantage, but more than that would be a disadvantage. In my state districts are required to start you on the correct step for up to 8 years of experience as long as the experience is in a public school.

6. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Apr 28, 2013

I changed districts with nineteen years on the books. Keep looking.

7. bison

bison Habitué

Apr 28, 2013

I'm only seeing experienced teachers with jobs in this area, but I know new grads do get lucky now and then. The youngest/newest ones at my school (and the several others I have been in this year) are in their 40s, and have been teaching for at least 15 years. I've asked, and some have changed schools and districts within the last few years. I've only seen newer teachers in special ed. I don't think you have less of a chance than others, but the market is very tough right now.

8. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Apr 28, 2013