Experience??

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Proud Mom, Jun 18, 2008.

1. Proud Mom

Proud Mom Rookie

Jun 18, 2008

Hello,

I will be going into my professional semester and student teaching beginning in January 09. I am a non-traditional student (36 yrs. old) who started back to school gradually while working as a salon owner/stylist. I also have two daughters who keep me quite busy. My concern is that when I am being interviewed and asked about my experiences with children and those extra "things" that make you stand out like Troop leader, cheerleader advisor, sunday school teacher, etc....I don't have those extras to tell. I have had a lot of experiences through my classes, but I just don't have the time to commit to the extras right now. I help as a parent volunteer as much as I can for different events and activites, but is that enough?? My hope is that more emphasis will be on seeing and hearing the passion I have for teaching, how I would handle certain situations, classroom management, lesson planning and instruction, etc. My schedule is only going to get busier as I move into student teaching. What did you feel your interview focused on and do you have any suggestions on how I should answer questions about the extras that I don't really have much of?? Thanks in advance for your replies.

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Jun 18, 2008

I think you are ahead of the game in that you are older, more mature and a mom.... Yes, I do that that counts for more than we would like to beleive. You bring so much life experience into the classroom just from being a mom. I think you should emphasize the balance in your life. I don't think it will matter if you can devote time to extras as much as showing that you are committed and can handle the job ahead of you.

4. Proud Mom

Proud Mom Rookie

Jun 18, 2008