Experience

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Resentful, Dec 27, 2012.

1. Resentful

Resentful Rookie

Dec 27, 2012

Another thread got me thinking about teaching and experience working with students/minors. Not including student teaching of any kind, I've had about six years experience working with students/minors including babysitting, working in summer camps, tutoring, teaching religious classes, working in daycares, and subbing.

How much experience did you have not including student teaching before landing a teaching job?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Dec 27, 2012

Other than a few years of being a camp counselor in high school (wouldn't put HS experience on resume), I only had PTO/volunteer experience in my kids' schools plus a bit of subbing.

4. monsieurteacher

monsieurteacher Aficionado

Dec 27, 2012

I had five years of working in a daycare while I went to University...

5. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Dec 27, 2012

After high school graduation and right up until I started my first year teaching, I worked for a local bank.

Two months before I started student teaching, I subbed a few times a week to "get my feet wet." Other than subbing for a couple of months (and student teaching, of course) I didn't really have a lot of experience working with kids (we did, however, have practicum hours during my undergrad years).

I landed my first teaching job right after finishing up student teaching.

6. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Dec 27, 2012

I...

babysat regularly during the summers beginning at age eleven.

taught Children's Church as a teen and worked with VBS.

was a summer school assistant when I was a junior and senior in high school.

worked at the district's preschool and after-school program for four or five years.

subbed while in college.

Oh, and there was our daycare I helped significantly with until it had to close. I've been surrounded by lots of children all my life...I started "teaching" them when I was very young. :)