Experience: Online Applications

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by SuperSide, Oct 9, 2008.

1. SuperSide

SuperSide Rookie

Oct 9, 2008

A lot of none-teaching related jobs have check lists on their online form asking how much experience you've had in certain areas.

Under a lot of these forms there is the training/teaching check box. As I've only been a student teacher, would that time go towards teaching experience. Here is my experience break down, for 1 yr in High School I had a practicum at an Elementary School, I helped with the computer class (1yr?). Following this I worked at a Library where I gave group and individual lessons about computers, this was part-time during school and full time during the summer. This lasted for approx. 3 years. (3 yrs?).

In my teaching program I was a student teacher for a full school year (1 yr?). The second year of the program it was just during the first half of the school year (.5 yrs?).

During the summer I taught and and tutored immigrants at an immigration office downtown (.5 yrs?)

For the last year I have been teaching computer classes to immigrants at a different society. This is a part time position. (1yr?).

So does all this experience go to my total yrs of experience doing this? 6 years? Or does some of this not count as actual experience, do the part time jobs count less?

The same question can be asked about computer experience. I used computers all during my education, for reports and other things, they started teaching us computers in grade 1. Does that go to computer experience?

3. SuperSide

SuperSide Rookie

Oct 10, 2008

I'm going to bump this back up.

The high school experience, I can understand it not counting for as much, because it was only in the afternoons 4 days a week.