expensive field trips

Discussion in 'General Education' started by jenn888, Sep 23, 2008.

1. jenn888

jenn888 Rookie

Sep 23, 2008

This is my first year teaching and I am in second grade. Our grade level chair has planned this field trip. The cost is $40!! We have to get charter buses b/c of the distance. This price doesn't include lunch! We are driving a hour and a half to visit a petting zoo and butterfly garden. The trip is in October and most of my kids have told me they cant go b/c of the cost. I work in a school that is 85% free lunch. We also have pictures coming up that are $45 for the smallest package not to mention our school wide fund raiser that is currently going on. It is $$$!! She wants to have another expensive field trip in December and trust me once she makes up her mind there is no changing it. Dont get me wrong I am all for field trips and taking kids who never get to travel places, but during our times right now I feel this is a bit much. She said NO when the other teachers suggested a bake sale or school store to help fund the trip. Anyone else have this problem?

Just needed to vent!

3. mandagap06

mandagap06 Devotee

Sep 23, 2008

I am sorry this is going on. Could you talk to your principal about it? Maybe she/he will ok the fundraisers or think up less expincive field trips. Looks like this teacher is only catatering to the kids with " richer" parents. That is just not fare!

4. 3Sons

3Sons Enthusiast

Sep 23, 2008

This is bizarre. I've always griped about the nickel-and-diming the school districts do, but at least I'm in an area where most parents can afford at least most of it if they want to.

5. MissHunny

MissHunny Comrade

Sep 23, 2008

Our october trip is $16 bucks a person, which I think is still a lil pricey, and this is in a nice suburban town. I mean when kids get older and the trips are more in depth then I can understand the expense, but for 2nd graders to see animals and butterflies??? $40 is way to much.

6. annafish