Expectations for 1st year teachers

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Johnjoel, Oct 25, 2009.

1. Johnjoel

Johnjoel Companion

Oct 25, 2009

Hey everyone! I just got our first 4sites back for my 3rd grade classroom and it doesn't look pretty - we are 40% proficient in math and about 34% proficient in reading. My state requires 3rd graders to be 64% proficient at the end of the year. I know none of you are mind readers, but would most schools expect a first year teacher to pull off the 30-20%% improvement in each content area in their 1st year? I'm doing my best....but its my first year!

3. Johnjoel

Johnjoel Companion

Oct 25, 2009

:)

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Oct 26, 2009

I can't answer your question directly, since I have no ideas what schools other than my own expect.

As a parent, my own expectations are along these lines:
    - I expect first year teachers to need some guidance, but to be capable professionals.

- I expect that they'll ask for help when they need it, but that they won't need it constantly.

- I expect them to be able to show results. Maybe not on a par with more experienced teachers, but results nonetheless. (After all, this isn't any sort of a trial year for those kids. It's a year of their education.)

This is kind of a pet peeve with me as a parent, and no, of course it's not directed at you :) But "only a first year teacher" doesn't cut it when it's MY CHILD in that class. When he or she can't afford to lose out on a year, or part of a year, of education because the teacher in front of the classroom can't accomplish what he or she is expected to do.

So, are your kids expected to make up a huge lag all in one year? (And one must question how on earth they ended up so far behind.) Probably not. Are they expected to make some serious gains? From what you write, probably.

5. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Oct 26, 2009