Excessive Testing???

Discussion in 'General Education' started by wldywall, Mar 4, 2015.

1. wldywall

wldywall Connoisseur

Mar 4, 2015

So my charter school has a bubble sheet high stakes test in three subjects a month.

They test with the MAP test three times as year (three subjects)

They do the Performance Series test twice a year (three subjects)

They do the MEAP, or now called the M-Step (Michigan smarter balance)

So come April to May they will have to all of the above tests in the same three week period.

Is this excessive or normal for schools nowadays? I haven't subbed in a school that has done this much, but this is my first year in an K-8 school working with elementary kids.

(BTW because of testing, no grade above K is allowed Recess, we don't even have a playground)

3. PowerTeacher

PowerTeacher Comrade

Mar 4, 2015

It's normal, but that is not a good thing.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Mar 4, 2015

Not abnormal...way too excessive.

5. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Mar 4, 2015

It's unfortunately common. I'm always kind of curious if the administrators who put children through this actually hate children, or if they really are so horrifically ignorant.

6. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Mar 4, 2015

More than average, I'm sure, but in general, decently normal. While we only have the one test (SBAC), there will, in the end, be quite a bit of time/resources that will be funneled into learning the new test, process, and style. For both teachers and for the students!

7. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Mar 4, 2015

Excessive...I don't even give 1/4 of that many tests, but that is because I am in a private school. Friends of mine in public schools in AZ give lots more tests than me, but I don't know of any giving as many as what you describe.

8. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Mar 4, 2015

Excessive and abnormal.