Excessive Talking

Discussion in 'High School' started by CubbieFan, Sep 18, 2010.

1. CubbieFan

CubbieFan Rookie

Sep 18, 2010

Hi everyone!

I'm a first-year high school teacher and have two periods where excessive talking is an issue. It's not just one or two students, it's quite a few of them. I really want to avoid writing up referrals, but my patience is wearing thin and I can't write referrals for the WHOLE class! Please, what are some strategies that are useful for excessive talkers?? The whole stop, stare, and wait routine is no longer working and it's annoying the quiet kids who are trying to learn. HELP! :eek:

Thanks!

3. newbeeteacher

newbeeteacher Rookie

Sep 18, 2010

I am in the same situation as you. I would love to hear any opinions and suggestions too. I have thought about assigning seats and separating the talkers but I would love other suggestions that aren't as 'drastic'.

And for anyone who has separated the talkers or assigned seats, how did the kids take it? I don't want to spend the rest of the year with kids who hate being in my class and aren't having fun and don't want to learn. Do they hold grudges for that long?

Thanks for any advice!

4. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Sep 18, 2010

I guess I have never thought of assigned seats as drastic - all my classes (except my AP classes) have assigned seats. And I would hate to think that assigned seats would cause students to not enjoy my class. I would have assigned seats on Monday if I were you. Seriously, you shouldn't be worrying about students not learning or having fun in your class because you assign seats or because you are moving students away from each other for talking. IMO, students will learn more and enjoy your class because you are in control of your class.