Ever thought this?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Ms.teach, Jun 7, 2011.

1. Ms.teach

Ms.teach Rookie

Jun 7, 2011

Have you ever though that never in a million years would you have so much trouble finding a teaching job? I live in an area where jobs were plentiful until the year I graduated. I've now done things I've never thought I'd do return back to school for a new career, teach preschool in child care and substitute and get by on it. I was sure I would find a job that summer after graduation now it's the third summer after graduation and there are RIF's all around. I'm still doing what I can up until last minute. I've sent out tons of resume's but there are naturally no positions posted. I really wasn't prepared for the reality of the job market when I graduated. I really thought that if I gave it my all something would come through. Sometimes even that isn't good enough! I'm finally to the point now I realize it isn't personal. It's just how things are and it sucks.

3. TheBagLady

TheBagLady Rookie

Jun 8, 2011

I remember when I first chose teaching as my major, everyone told me that it was such a good choice, because there are always jobs and there will always be a need for teachers! I'm feeling glad I chose a high needs area (special ed.), or I might still be job hunting right now.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 8, 2011

Honestly, it's ALWAYS been like that in the NYC metro area.

The economy hasn't made things noticeably harder, because they were always pretty impossible here anyway.

I remember as a kid in the early 70's, every single time we went to my cousin's house, my uncle was trying to talk my cousin out of becoming a teacher, because there were no jobs.

She did teach for about a decade, then left teaching to work in pharmecutical sales.

5. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 8, 2011