Ever had student teacher problems?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Kaley12, Dec 9, 2013.

1. Kaley12

Kaley12 Companion

Dec 9, 2013

While I'm a fairly new teacher, I think once I get more settled in to my career I'd like to take a student teacher sometimes. The only thing that worries me is the possibility of getting one that does quite poorly. I think I'd find it hard to give a low evaluation, because I know how much those evaluations are valued when it comes to getting hired to our school board. It definitely wouldn't be pleasant.

I was wondering if anyone who's taken a student teacher ever had a hard time with them? Maybe they were lazy and unprepared. Or worse (in my opinion), they really tried but were simply not cut out for it. I was curious how you dealt with it. For example, did you have to have a lot of discussions with them? Did they take any of your advice to improve? Did you ever have to fail them?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Dec 9, 2013

Yes. I had one who truly had difficulty wrapping her head around grade 2 curriculum. She couldn't help kids with vocabulary they came across in their reading,misspoke often, and dressed inappropriately (we saw either a belly ring or her thong on a daily basis). She was as sweet as could be, loved the kids but really didn't come across as incredibly smart or serious about the 'work' of teaching. We had discussions...didn't really go anywhere in terms of her changing. I just couldn't hand over an entire day/weeks of teaching to her...it would have been a disservice to my students.

Fortunately, I've had the pleasure of hosting two very good STs as well.

4. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Dec 9, 2013

Some are better than others, but I've never had anyone fail. Sometimes people just need more help. I have had practicum students, student teachers, and interns. Interns are my favorite.