Ethics of changing districts mid year

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Camel13, Oct 19, 2019.

1. Camel13

Camel13 Companion

Oct 19, 2019

I really need some unbiased advise. I am in my third year teaching in an isolated rural district in which I commute 140 miles round trip every day. I love my job. My school has a lot of the usual issues with behavior, etc, but because it is so small it is easy to get very attached and it feels like a family. Before I came in my school had almost yearly turnover of teachers for a while. When I was hired the board gave me a bump in two steps for pay for the first five years that I have to pay back if I resign. I sign a “contract” at the beginning of the year, but I am still under provisional teacher classification. I applied for a job this summer in a district 10 miles from home. My admin was very understanding of why I wanted to but knew I love our district. I did not get said job, but just this week another position opened up because the current teacher is retiring. This is the subject I want to teach the most and due to the rurality of where I live it is pretty hard to get a position...there are not that many schools, my husband is entrenched where he works, so we will never move, etc.

I am so mad that this has come up now instead of summer. My husband is telling me that it is not a real contract I am signing and that people understand you have to do what is right for yourself. I just feel like I would be abandoning my school, and I want to make sure if I pursue this that I am not being unethical or that this reflects poorly on my reputation as a teacher. Personally this is very emotional charged for me. I love my district and students, but I cannot do this commute forever. Advice or similar experiences anyone could share?

3. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Oct 19, 2019