Ethical Job Searching

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by MsWK, Jul 26, 2008.

1. MsWK

MsWK Habitué

Jul 26, 2008

I know that we've talked about this in other threads before, but as an administrator in a year-round program, I am constantly amazed, when it comes to the end of the year, at the number of people who will skip out on the last week or two of their contract to start a new job. By not finishing their contract, they forfeit lots of things: their bonus, any accrued vacation & sick time that they would be paid out for, their reference, their eligibility for rehire, and in some extreme cases, they forfeit their benefits, such as the right to continue health coverage through COBRA.

As an administrator, I would respect a teacher who said to me, "I'd love to come work for your district, but I have a commitment to my current position through X/X/2008." I would be a little concerned about hiring someone who didn't work out their contract from school A, because I'd think "what will keep them from doing this to me?"

What do you think?

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jul 26, 2008

I think you are right. I would much rather stick to my contract then possibly ruin my career by skipping out on it. Besides, there are teachers that do not have jobs. I know that the admin is going to pick the best fit for them, but surely there is more than one. Why not pick the candidate that does not have that contract hanging over their head?

4. trayums

trayums Enthusiast

Jul 26, 2008

Agreed. Why tarnish your career when you just need to do the job that you were hired to do.

5. merigold78

merigold78 Cohort

Jul 27, 2008

i agree that you finish what you started. my second year i taught at what i now believe to be one of the worst charters in the area :(; it would have been very easy to quit after the 1st week. but i wanted to finish the year b/c that's what i committed to doing.