ESL Teachers: HELPP ME!!!

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by QQQ, Aug 10, 2008.

1. QQQ

QQQ Rookie

Aug 10, 2008

Now how did I get into this? :eek:hmy:

I'm a first year teacher and certified in Special Education. My sons school (small private, faith based school) called me in for an interview last week and pretty much hired me on the spot. I got a VERY good feeling from the people interviewing me and the last 4 days that we have been going for training/classroom preperation, I am enjoying being part of the close knit community and the support from the very proactive administration. Sounds great huh? It pretty much is EXCEPT that I got hired as an ESL teacher.

YIKES!! :eek:

I will be doing some remedial work, which I'm excited about but 75% of my work will be ESL from KG - 12. I know nothing about ESL. Please help me, I really want to do a good job.

Will I be teaching my ESL children the exact same syllabus their peers in class are studying? Will it be a modified syllabus of the same? Or does ESL usually have its own syllabus guidelines? Can you tell how cluessless I am? :down:

I'm going to give this my best shot and aim to also get certified in ESL ASAP but on my way there, I'm going to need serious help. Please tell me what you can about the above questions.

Thank you in advance!

3. QQQ

QQQ Rookie

Aug 12, 2008

:0(

nobody?:help:

4. Missy99

Missy99 Connoisseur

Aug 12, 2008

What has your principal told you about the curriculum?

I am assuming she/he has not left you high and dry without any guidance as to what you will be teaching.

5. QQQ

QQQ Rookie

Aug 13, 2008

I have been told that I will have mainly Junior high and High School ESL and ELL students.

My question is: do ESL teachers follow the same curriculum and syllabus as the regular teachers, with some modifications? Or is the syllabus completely changed?

6. Missy99

Missy99 Connoisseur

Aug 13, 2008

Usually the ESL class has its own syllabus.

7. QQQ

QQQ Rookie

Aug 13, 2008