EnVision Math

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by taw24, Aug 23, 2008.

1. taw24

taw24 Rookie

Aug 23, 2008

I am a student teacher, and I will begin with teaching first grade math using the EnVision Math curriculum. I have not had the chance to look it over as school starts next Monday. Can someone give me an overview of this program. Also I am confused... I thought that student teachers are expected to make their own lesson plans, but they said I can use these or make my own. How do all of you like these lesson plans, can you make them your own? What will a typical lesson look like and include. Advise please.

3. turtlegirl

turtlegirl Companion

Aug 24, 2008

That is a pretty "deep" question. Envision is a brand new program so you will not find alot of people who have experience in it, including you sponsor teacher. Check out the website to scott foresman, there is alot on there.

As for lesson plans, when using a series you tend to follow the lesson plans that go with it, and adapt them to your need and the needs of your students.

Good luck

4. MissR

MissR Comrade

Aug 26, 2008

For each lesson you will need kid workbooks, the overhead from the pouch and the teacher manual for the script - at least until you get used to it. I just taught lesson #3 today, so I am still looking at the script to make sure I'm doing it right. There is a problem of the day also. Each lesson has an objective already, which will be nice for your lesson plans to turn in, then there will be an introduction, visual learning bridge (VLB), guided practice, and independent practice every time. The VLB is just a series of pictures that you use to ask the kids questions (which are on the overhead). Why give yourself more work? use their lesson! For the first couple lessons you will need kid counters (to count with) of some sort. Oh, there is also a little animation to show! but I don't have the technology to show it to my class.

5. reckers

reckers Rookie

Aug 26, 2008

Hi Rookie,