Entitled to breaks during workday?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by ElizabethJ, Sep 5, 2015.

1. ElizabethJ

ElizabethJ Guest

Sep 5, 2015

Hello everyone. I am a newly credentialed teacher and just took a position as an Aide to get my foot in the door with a highly prestigious California school district. I am fully prepared to work my butt off, but am perplexed that I have NO BREAK in my daily 6-hour schedule. I also am expected to create tailored lessons to meet the instructional needs of various groups of students that I'll pull out of class, yet I also have NO SCHEDULED PREP TIME. I asked about the prep time, and was told 10 minutes might be squeezed in somewhere.

Just wandering what you seasoned teachers thought. I am aware of the time and effort required to deliver effective and meaningful lessons, and I look forward to the opportunity. At the same time, I'm not a robot, and need some nourishment of food and drink. Moreover, I understand 6 hours of lessons cannot be planned in 10 minutes.

Is this legal - the school not providing a break? And am I a sucker for cranking out lessons having to do the prep on my own unpaid time? Or should I just suck it up? I am apprehensive about saying anything because I don't want to be seen as stirring the pot. Your feedback please. Thank you so much.

3. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Sep 5, 2015

Your contract will clearly state what your planning period "rights" are and as aide, they are different than a full-time teacher (at least in my district). Contact your Union rep about your contract and rights before you approach your Admin. After that, whether you chose to hold your school/Admin to the contract is up to you.