English teachers: What is your standard homework?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Mr.MiddleSchool, Aug 22, 2013.

1. Mr.MiddleSchool

Mr.MiddleSchool Comrade

Aug 22, 2013

Hello.

I am a language arts teacher and I am trying to try a new way of doing homework so that it is more effective, and beneficial for my students.

In the past I had them respond to a writing prompt and also read for an hour. This is what my cooperating teacher had her students do when I was a student teacher and I just "took it and ran with it" when I became a teacher myself. I know some of my students forged parent signatures when it came to their reading, and the majority of my students quickly wrote the paper the day it was due.

So, what is your traditional homework like? I want it to be meaningful, but at the same time not a strain on me as the teacher.

Any ideas/thoughts are welcome. If it matters or helps I teach 7th grade.

-Mr.MiddleSchool

3. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Aug 22, 2013

They read for an hour each day? That's too much, IMO. I try to make my homework no more than 20 minutes when I assign it. I usually assign reading (two nights to read one story that we usually start in class) and do some questions.

I try to keep in mind that my kids have 7 classes. If each class gave 20 minutes of homework, that would be over two hours. I believe they should be involved in activities too, which takes a lot of time.

4. Mr.MiddleSchool

Mr.MiddleSchool Comrade

Aug 22, 2013

I'm sorry, I should have been more specific and detailed.
    They are required to read 1hour during the course of the week (they have from Monday when it is assigned to Friday when it is collected). They also have a parent sign acknowledging that the child has read.

Same thing for the prompt. They have from Monday-Friday when it is collected to write one page. I know every child's schedule is different, I try to comply with that.

5. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado