English teacher needs ideas for teaching bibliography, citing sources

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by englishteach7, Apr 13, 2011.

1. englishteach7

englishteach7 Companion

Apr 13, 2011

I'm a first-year English teacher getting ready to start a unit on research paper writing. I have no idea where to start. I know I have to teach them how to research and correctly cite sources and create a bibliography or works cited page. Any ideas where to start? Any websites that I could go to for some guidance? I'm on my own here. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

3. englishteach7

englishteach7 Companion

Apr 13, 2011

By the way I am a 7th grade English teacher.

4. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Apr 13, 2011

5. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Apr 13, 2011

6. Petite_Teacher

Petite_Teacher Companion

Apr 14, 2011

The easiest way to teach students how to cite sources and create a bibliography page is to create a power point explaining to them why citing a source is important and different ways that they can be written as well as what a biography page is. Also you can put examples up.

7. myloveasdeep

myloveasdeep Rookie

Apr 14, 2011

My students found this webquest helpful: http://www.rlc.dcccd.edu/library/infolit-ol/mlasl/

I also gave them a "cheatsheet" for citing the resources they were most likely to use ,like a page on a website. I used humor websites I know they frequent like xkcd.com as examples.

8. DaveG

DaveG Companion

Apr 14, 2011

Just to add it in there, I'd suggest you ask for MLA for starting.

You may want to ask other teachers in your department or at the high school level what the majority of teachers use. The only reason I say MLA is because the free citation websites usually use MLA and sometimes require a fee for APA or others.

9. Math

Math Cohort

Apr 14, 2011

Your doing research papers in 7th Grade... I'm doing my first in 9th Grade which is this year and we have already started...

10. Math

Math Cohort

Apr 14, 2011