English 5038

Discussion in 'Single Subject Tests' started by frteach, Dec 31, 2015.

1. frteach

frteach Rookie

Dec 31, 2015

I thought I would post my experience with taking this test, in case it helps someone else. I am a foreign language teacher by training and have been teaching for almost 19 years. I needed to get certified in English due to some changes coming down the pike. I started studying about 2 months before the test. I did buy the Mometrix study guide, but I did not find it very helpful. What was helpful was taking the ETS practice test and researching all the topics that I was unfamiliar with. I also read as many authors as I could from the list of authors you should know. Know your romantics!

I studies just a couple of hours a week as I am a full time teacher and a mom. I only took the one ETS practice test. I liked the computer test a lot and had plenty of time to get through all the questions and even to go back over the ones I was less confident about. I marked any question I wasn't 100% sure on and went back over those at the end. I still finished with about 15 minutes of extra time.

I took the test in early Dec and scores become official this week. I scored a 190, which is passing in my state so I am all set. My weakest section was reading. The other two sections were very strong and I earned a maximum of points there.

Hope this helps someone considering taking the test. I have no background in American or British Lit. and I was easily able to pass this on the first try.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Dec 31, 2015

Congratulations, frteach! Researching topics on one's own can be time-consuming but is often a very good way to learn the content.

Last edited: Jan 1, 2016
  4. frteach

frteach Rookie

Jan 1, 2016

Yup, it was time consuming, but it really helped me fill in gaps. I also studied a lot of literary terminology, which also came in handy.

5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jan 1, 2016