End of the Year Crunch!

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by PinkFish, May 16, 2009.

1. PinkFish

PinkFish Rookie

May 16, 2009

So I am totally freaking out! I was told yesterday that I had to turn in all of my textbooks on Monday. There is still 3 weeks left of school! What am I suppose to do with my second graders with no textbooks???? Does anyone elses school do this? Next week we are doing end of the year testing so I have next week all planned out but then there is still 2 weeks left and nothing to do. I know that they don't expect much of anything to happen but as a new teacher I don't have a wealth of games/ extra activities. I've burned through most of my extra activity sheets and I only have 3 math worksheets to last me the rest of the year... Any ideas of things I could do????

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

May 16, 2009

Well, I don't have a lot of concrete ideas, but I'll still reply.

What technology do you have access to? That may make a difference.

Have you finished your curriculum? I know I still have 3 types of verbal problems to cover before I start to review for our final exams.

Could you do a big push on reading? Have each of the kids bring in their favorite books and do something with that? Perhaps work on their skills at reading aloud?

How about the beginning of teaching script? Or the times tables?

4. nattles19

nattles19 Comrade

May 16, 2009

I like having my students write a class book about how to be third graders in my classroom. It takes a good chunk of time (but it's purposeful) and we take photographs to accompany their pages and publish it.

Then I have it to read to next year's students as part of my back to school activities!

5. nattles19

nattles19 Comrade

May 16, 2009

Another idea...