End of the Day Chaos

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by TeacherBug08, Sep 22, 2013.

1. TeacherBug08

TeacherBug08 Companion

Sep 22, 2013

I am a new teacher this year! I teach first grade. My days are going smoothly now except for the very end of the day. I was thinking of implementing math centers/free choice at the end of the day. Does anyone have any luck with this? After the kids do small groups (math), they will do an individual (formative assessment) and then they will get to pick something to do out of a big basket which will be full of math options. I was thinking- flashcards, dry erase books over shapes, addition/subtraction, big clocks, math books, hundreds charts, and other games. I was also thinking of adding in just a couple other options not math related every now in then just to spice it up like - listening center, read to someone, sight word games. Then if the students are loud I was thinking I would give them 2 warnings and if they get a 3 they must go back to their desk and read to self?? I would bring the entire class together at the very end of the day and do a read aloud/assign students to go get bags. I would LOVE some feedback on this idea or what do you do at the end of the day to keep students motivated/create peace at the end of the day?

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Sep 22, 2013

Here is something I have done at the end of the day to calm them down. Last 15 minutes or so. I put on a books on tape or smartboard story and then I dim the lights. I have found that offering centers or free choice just amps them up, and the consequences are too close to the end of the day to make much of a difference.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Sep 22, 2013

What are you currently doing at end of day, TeacherBug? I'd be hesitant to jump into something new if the fundamental issues aren't first addressed.

5. TeacherBug08

TeacherBug08 Companion

Sep 22, 2013