Embarrassed to Admit your Profession?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by The Natural Log, Apr 18, 2015.

1. The Natural Log

The Natural Log Rookie

Apr 18, 2015

I've always wanted to be a teacher since I was a little kid, and most of the time, I love the job and would never want to do anything else. That said, I sometimes feel embarrassed when people ask me what I do for a living, and I respond "teacher". Some of it has to do with the fact that I graduated first in my high school class, and lots of people (my parents included) just naturally expected that I would become a doctor or a lawyer or some other high-paying job. I think a lot of it also has to do with the current "teacher bashing" atmosphere in our state and in many others.

Does anyone else ever feel similarly?

3. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Apr 18, 2015

I can honestly say I am proud to tell people I'm a teacher. I love the profession and my kids.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 18, 2015

Nope. Never embarrassed... I am passionate about our PROFESSION. . speak passionately about what you do...or accept your misguided notions about what we do... Or find something else to do..,so sad you can't be proud of the difference you make in studenTs lives. :(

5. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Apr 18, 2015

Whenever anyone gives me guff about "underachieving," I channel my inner Taylor Mali and let them know exactly what I think about their opinion.

6. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Apr 18, 2015

"That said, I sometimes feel embarrassed when people ask me what I do for a living, and I respond "teacher". "