Emailing principals/department heads

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by nyjets88, Jun 6, 2016.

1. nyjets88

nyjets88 Rookie

Jun 6, 2016

I'm in my 3rd year of looking for a social studies position and getting very anxious now, so far no interviews for this upcoming year yet. Last year it picked up more in August, but still its hard to be patient.

Anyone have success emailing principals or department heads to go along with your application?

Assuming you don't say anything stupid in your email, is there any downside?

Is it better to email the principal, or the department head, or both? It's tough because different schools handle hiring differently, sometimes the principal isn't even in the interview at least for the first round.

Also, if you have interviewed at a school before, and not gotten the job, but were told, or thought you made a strong impression, is it a good idea to send an email referencing that, talking about enjoying your previous interview, and mention how you've grown?

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Jun 6, 2016

I have seen how many emails a principal and a department head can get in the course of a day. My gut instinct has always been that those random emails to applications that haven't been evaluated are deleted. If that is the case, they would be annoying, not beneficial. I think that sometimes we think we should email just because we can. I would suggest grooming the resume, cover letters, and interview skills before shooting off the emails, but I know some people swear by the email. I can never help but wonder if the candidates who emailed wouldn't have done just as well without the email. Maybe they had invested the time and effort in making sure all of their ducks were in a row before the emails went out. If the very last thing that they did was to email, do you think they credit the email, or the effort expended before the email? I know how I would answer - how about you?

4. phillyteacher

phillyteacher Comrade

Jun 6, 2016