Emailing Parents?

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by willow129, Nov 18, 2013.

1. willow129

willow129 Comrade

Nov 18, 2013

Ok so I'm a second year music teacher and I find kindergarten fairly challenging. It's frustrating because I feel like it should be this magical thing where the kids are in their first music class and discovering and exploring together but...well last year we had a REALLY tough kindergarten (now a REALLY tough first grade) and it was so anything but magical.

I did a lot of reading about preschool/kindergarten music over the summer and got some new ideas and things to try out and helpful, so...I'm definitely trying to improve my own teaching and understanding of that age range. So I guess my first question is are there any good resources, books, stuff to read on classroom management in kindergarten and understanding how they learn?

The next thing is, this year the K's seemed much more promising. We have two classes of them and one of the classes is simply angelic so far. I only see them on Fridays though so I've only had like 9 classes with them so we'll see. The other group though, this past quarter I had them twice a week and oh my god are things going downhill. Add to that, I just found out today their teacher is going to have surgery on her arm and will be needing a long-term sub for a while. Groooan.