Elementary Teacher Interview (need advice)

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Sfalkne1, Jun 30, 2018.

1. Sfalkne1

Sfalkne1 Guest

Jun 30, 2018

I am a new teacher and I had an interview for a position that I really want. I came up with an answer for all the questions I could think on paper and studied it before the interview and I learned all about the school. However, during the interview I seemed to freeze up and couldn't find the words to answer the questions. I answered but when they asked me to give an example or how I come up with procedures and routines I couldn't think straight. I told them that one of my weaknesses is that I can be soft spoken and the principal really encouraged me telling me that soft spoken people are often some of the wisest people. I also mentioned that I had studied answers and I knew what I wanted to say I just started blanking and the two teachers were saying that they were once in my position and not to let that worry me. I also sent an email to the principal thanking her for giving me the opportunity and she replied that it was a pleasure to meet me. They said they were going to try to make a decision that day and they would let me know either way and won't leave me hanging and I still haven't heard anything. I feel like I bombed this interview.

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jun 30, 2018

How long ago was your interview?

Take it as a learning opportunity. You may not have gotten the job, but it might not be because of the way you interviewed. I will tell you that my school - which is very tough to get into, because we're small and highly sought after - just hired a brand new teacher with no experience who was obviously nervous during his interview. When we discussed him afterwards, we talked about how he was obviously nervous but that we saw potential in him. So, we offered him the job.