Elementary question

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by John Lee, Jun 23, 2013.

1. John Lee

John Lee Groupie

Jun 23, 2013

I'm not sure which forum this belongs in, but I have a question as it relates to questions that tend to be asked on interviews, and the general elementary school curriculum as I've known it.

Basically, the overall elementary curriculum consists of reading, writing, math, social studies &/or science. In each of these subjects, the curriculum is guided by a textbook. Over 90% of teachers that I've seen, basically use these guides as their standard operating procedure. And the "teacher's guide" basically does just what it says--it guides. It is a pacing guide, it gives ideas (strategies to engage ELL), it gives testing materials (i.e. assessment), etc. And as a new teacher, I would rely primarily on these curriculums.

My questions are about how these facts should factor in to the interview process. I'm imagining that over-emphasizing your... reliance on these curriculums wouldn't go over well with interviewers. But at the same time, that is the truth. And as a grade team member, these will be the main tool that will guide your teaching.

As a sub teacher, I think I struggle with how to answer questions as they relate to specifics inside the classroom. One of the things I hate is trying to lend extra importance to (somewhat trivial) experiences I've had, in an effort to answer the question in a way that won't hurt me in the process. I just want to answer questions as honestly as possible. So in the case of questions in the classroom (e.g. How do you accomodate ELL in your classroom, or describe a lesson that went well), as a day-to-day sub TBH: I don't really have good answers to these questions. What I would like to say is that as a new teacher, I would rely on resources (i.e. curriculum guides) for all the things it does provide (i.e. strategies, ideas, pacing), to those aforementioned questions.