Elementary or Secondary: How Did You Decide?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by OedipaMaas, Jul 16, 2010.

1. OedipaMaas

OedipaMaas Rookie

Jul 16, 2010

How did you know what grade level you wanted to teach?

I'm waffling over whether to go for a multiple subjects credential or an English single-subject credential.

Since they are both in pretty low demand, there does not seem to be any economic reason to choose one over the other. I always thought I'd go for English, but lately I keep thinking about how much I like that upper elementary age group as well as the idea of working with the same group of kids all day. On the other hand, I'm good with teenagers, and I majored in English and love the subject matter.

So, how did you decide?

And, on a related note, is it difficult to switch once in the field?

3. LetsDoSomeMath

LetsDoSomeMath Rookie

Jul 16, 2010

For me, it was something I just knew. I always knew I wanted to work with middle school kids.

During my time in college- we had to do practicum hours in different grade levels-- and through that, it confirmed that middle school was for me.

4. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jul 16, 2010

I am not good with little kids. I also didn't really have an interest in anything other than English. I couldn't imagine having to teach multiple subjects and keep the same kids all day long.

I did a secondary English program. I did teach high school English for two years, and I did enjoy it. Then I took a middle school job when my job was eliminated due to schedule changes. I found that I really loved middle school. I'm still teaching my subject, and not little kids. I heard horror stories about middle school, but I love it.

5. callmebob

callmebob Enthusiast

Jul 16, 2010