Elem vs Middle vs High School

Discussion in 'General Education' started by UpperMidwest, Jan 31, 2017.

1. UpperMidwest

UpperMidwest Rookie

Jan 31, 2017

I have been subbing for 4 months now and am still undecided as to what grade level I want to teach. What key differences have you noticed? Do you think my observations are correct?

Here's a few differences I've noticed:

Student independence: Pretty obvious here with older students being more independent, younger ones need more guidance

Student energy level: Younger students have more energy and have to be calmed down, including middle school students. HS students have to be woken up sometimes

Student sass/attitude: to me it seems like middle schools have the most sass, then HS'ers and then elementary. Both elem and middle school students have some silliness sometimes which can, sometimes be fun. Elementary students seem to be the nicest.

Fights: Middle school seems to have the most fights. Kids will hit one another in elementary but they aren't so much "real" rights

"Given up on school": Certain elementary students aren't jaded and feel like they still have a chance at succeeding academically. This seems to change with age with older kids becoming more jaded

Use of an adult voice: I've noticed that at least though 4th grade a lot of teachers use a high pitched voice, almost like baby talkish. In middle school and beyond students are talked to in an adult -like manner

Teaching style: Elementary, especially kindergarten and first grade is often "sing-songy." For grades 2-4 it isn't sing-songy but it requires slow speaking in a "nice happy voice." The teaching voice and style in middle school and high school is pretty much the same.

Last edited: Jan 31, 2017
  3. UpperMidwest

UpperMidwest Rookie

Jan 31, 2017

Anyone else feel like they have to be "on" all the time when teaching elementary? As in you have to use a fake nice voice and speak slow?

Last edited: Jan 31, 2017
  4. ms.irene