Effective Staff Meetings

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Miss J. Pre-K, Dec 6, 2008.

1. Miss J. Pre-K

Miss J. Pre-K Comrade

Dec 6, 2008

We have a staff meeting once a month that the director calls and basically she goes over all the new regulations from the "main office" and basically repeats all the stuff she's been told that we are doing wrong (usually it involves paperwork b/c the teachers and assistants are doing the main offices' jobs--another rant). I've really come to dread these meetings.

Both of the teachers in our center are new to Head Start, as is our director, some of the assistant teachers, and rotater. Not only that, but I am a first year teacher, and the other teacher is teaching pre-k for the first time. We are not getting much support from our director or the "main office" people. I'm looking for ideas about how your staff meetings are conducted that support you as a teacher. I would like to go to the other teaching team and suggest that we start having weekly meetings (maybe 30 min. to start) in which we talk about what has worked for us that week, children we need help with, new curriculum ideas, etc. I feel like I don't get to talk to the other teaching team except on workdays and after school, and then it's not usually about curriculum/kids, but personal stuff. Some days I feel like an island in my classroom.

3. vannapk

vannapk Groupie

Dec 6, 2008

We have weekly staff meetings where the principal goes over the stuff from the ad building and general stuff like you described above. Then, once a week we also have a team meeting where the teachers in our grade level get together and talk about what you described like curriculum and ideas. Maybe you could suggest to the other teachers that you start having team meetings weekly.

4. little317

little317 Groupie

Dec 6, 2008