ECERS

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by RedVac, Apr 27, 2010.

1. RedVac

RedVac Rookie

Apr 27, 2010

I am getting observed on Thursday by ECERS. I am not so worried about the classroom/environment but I am concerned about the interview part. Any experiences with this out there?

3. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Apr 27, 2010

Read through the ECERS book and you'll have a good idea about the questions they'll ask. When I was interviewed (I'm a former child care teacher) I believe they asked me about frequency of breaks, benefits we receive, communication with parents, frequency of formal conferences, what temperature range we take the kids out to play in, the structure of the day, rotation of books, and other stuff that I can't recall. But I do remember that just by looking at what's expected to be in the top rating for each category a good number of questions come from that.

Good luck with your observation. Remember to talk, talk, talk to the children the whole time!

4. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Apr 27, 2010

They are observing you for friendly interactions with children, how you deal with problem behaviors, if you have them problem-solve themselves, asking open-ended questions, etc.

The above poster hit the highlights. The interview is more about school policy and asking any questions they didn't observe when they were there. Nothing to be nervous about. Have one of your supervisors gone through your room (or have you) to check you meet all the criteria? I just did one on a school last week - pain in the ^^%$%!

I think it is interesting because I had to give them high marks in areas I didn't like and low marks in areas I did just because of the darned questions. It is a good tool but not perfect.

5. RedVac

RedVac Rookie

Apr 27, 2010

Thanks! My room is ready to go. My director went through and it is pretty equipped. For some reason I am just really nervous about the interview part.

6. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Apr 27, 2010

Have faith. You'll do great!