ECERS-3 / Science Center

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by jbrinkm, Dec 17, 2015.

1. jbrinkm

jbrinkm Companion

Dec 17, 2015

I'm a Pre-K teacher in a public school, and my department is demanding that we make a bunch of changes to our classrooms (in the middle of the school year :banghead:) because of the release of ECERS-3. I used to have a Math & Science Center in my room that had some science-y stuff, manipulatives, puzzles, etc. Now we had to create a separate science center. We can still have a manipulatives/table toys center (can't call it math, because math is everywhere so it doesn't need a center of its own), but the two can no longer be combined. Now that I've separated the two areas, I'm realizing how weak my science center is. I have science journals and some living things (plants, gecko), color lenses, a magnet board, rocks, pine cones, leaves (I will have shells in a few weeks), magnifying glasses and rubbing plates.

Can you give me some more ideas for some SIMPLE science activities that 3 & 4 year olds can do independently in this area? NO sensory tables - I already have a sand table and water table off to the side. I'd love to hear "tried and true" ideas - things that you have used that were safe AND engaging (and don't need adults to interact with). And that don't take a ton of time to set up - I've got enough to do with all the changes to my room!

3. beckyeduk8er

beckyeduk8er Comrade

Dec 21, 2015

First let me say I have not looked at any type of ECERS in 5 years. So am am not sure what changes have been made, and I have been teaching kindergarten for the last few years.

I loved using discovery bottles in my science center. We would make one-two new bottles a week and add them to the center. Because we made them as a class the students we able to use them independently and were excited to use them.
    http://www.redtedart.com/2015/02/27/25-fantastic-discovery-bottle-ideas/