EC-4 Generalist vs. 4-8 Generalist

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by TexTeacherTiff, Jul 23, 2007.

1. TexTeacherTiff

TexTeacherTiff Rookie

Jul 23, 2007

Hello out there! I recently took the EC-4 Exam on July 16th and passed with a 265. (79 out of 100). It was not very difficult for me after I studied a few weekends in a row. My question to all of you out there who have taken both exams, is should i be very concerned with the difficulty level of the 4-8 generalist exam? I mean I am positive that it is more difficult, but is it extremely difficult compared to the EC-4? I know that since I have passed the Elementary exam I could technically look for a job in the EC-4 area. However I also know that #1) Elementary is the hardest to obtain a position in and #2) I have worked with kids and really want to teach Middle School. Anyone out there that could help.... please do...:thanks: :love:

3. SunShinePumper

SunShinePumper Rookie

Jul 24, 2007

I took the 4-8 and then the EC-4 about a year later. I thought that the EC-4 was a slightly more difficult because of all the reading strategies/philosophies. Just look over your math, science( especially earth) and legal requirements of a teacher regarding special ed students

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jul 24, 2007

Rumors fly thick and fast about how hard these tests are, but it sounds like you're a pretty good test taker, TexTeacherTiff, and I'd guess that that will transfer fairly smoothly to the 4-8 Generalist test.

5. noreenk

noreenk Cohort

Jul 28, 2007