Eating well when there's no time

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by dizzykates, Jan 28, 2008.

1. dizzykates

dizzykates Habitué

Jan 28, 2008

I am sorry, but I have been thinking about this a while and I need to say something. I am really having a hard time with people at work who are constantly eating their microwave soup, lean cuisines, granola bars, or nothing and then commenting how wonderful my lunch looks and how healthy it appears. Then they go onto "if only I had time, I could eat like that too" and it ends up somewhere around how they can't lose weight as it is and if they ate like this they would be even more over weight. I'm sorry, is there not a correlation between eating good, non-processed, varied foods and a healthy weight? And how about if you spent the time in the kitchen cooking instead of driving to mcdonalds or arby's for your dinner tonight because that is all you have "time" for?? I am not blessed with tons of time, I work fulltime too and I'm new in this position, I have a lot to learn. I also take two graduate courses and have a home to keep up. I just make different choices. For example, I cooked a chicken in the slow cooker all day with some carrots. I came home sliced some bread an threw some salad in a bowl. Wonderful meal. Guess what I am having for lunch tomorrow? The leftover chicken is now off the bones and simmering in a pot with the rest of the carrots and an onion, I will be having soup the next few days. Followed by spaghetti or something to finish off the week. It's NOT hard!! You just have to think about it and go grocery shopping periodically. My husband is shocked that we have good food each night. I kid you not, the phrases "Where did this come from? and We have that?" have come out of his mouth. If you have the right ingredients you can make almost anything. Grr...throw in some brown rice, salad, and fresh fruit and people are really impressed.

:sorry: I just had to vent...:thanks:

3. terptoteacher