Earning a Prize each Month

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by lpbytp, Sep 5, 2011.

1. lpbytp

lpbytp Rookie

Sep 5, 2011

As a new teacher, I am looking for some opinions from those with more experience with Kindergarteners. I came up with a positive reinforcement reward system that I think should work well, but can you tell me what you think?

Print a copy of the calendar for the month for each child. I would start this in October, since they will know the rules well enough by then. Tell them, “You can earn up to 2 stamps every day, for being a Super Student. If I have to remind you of the rules too many times, you will lose a stamp that day, and if you are really misbehaving or being unkind, you will lose both stamps. So let’s make sure we are all being Super Students every day!” (In reality, you would never take away both stamps, as that could really make them feel like they “failed.” You would always give at least one stamp per day on the calendar.) Tell them that if they don’t have ANY blank days on their calendar at the end of the month (and none of them will), they can pick a special prize. (So really, everyone will get a prize each month, but they will have to have "earned it.")
    The prizes will just be small Dollar Store type items, but I will try to have a good variety.

Thanks in advance!

3. zoey'smom

zoey'smom Cohort

Sep 5, 2011

This is just my opinion, but I would rather do a group reward,where they all work as a class for one reward. Right now we are working for extra minutes of play time. Other prizes could be a movie, popcorn party, ice cream, pizza, and so on. The prizes would get bigger as we go. You will find they will start helping their friends with their behavior so they can all get the prize.