early childhood ed -will i have trouble getting a job?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by njmom179, Sep 23, 2009.

1. njmom179

njmom179 New Member

Sep 23, 2009

I was going to apply to a post bacclaurette (sp?) program for early childhood education. I studied for and took the praxis 0022. Now im re-thinking things because I was wondering will i be able to get a job in the public schools or not..I was wondering this since i would only be certified for p-3 and wouldnt be able to move around to the higher grades should the need arise. So my question is, will it be much harder to get a job in the public school system if i go for the Early childhood Ed cert. or should i study and take the 0014 praxis and try to get into the elementary education post baccleaurette program at St. Elizabeth's college in NJ????? Thanks!

3. clarnet73

clarnet73 Moderator

Sep 23, 2009

I was an EC major. I don't like the older kids, so even if I could be moved around to them, I really don't feel I'd be a good fit for them. OK, i LIKE the older kids, but in smaller doses than would be required to teach there...

In my EC program, one of our professors told us that she's had principals specifically asking for EC people to teach K, because we're more developmentally centered... there have been other districts where for anything other than PreK, they are only looking at El Ed majors. I had one district tell me that unless it's PReK, they refuse to hire anyone that's EC because then they "can't move them around."

My love is PreK anyway, so an El Ed degree wouldn't have done it for me...

Is it harder to get a job? Maybe, maybe not... depends what the P's want at the time they're hiring. I think it comes down to asking yourself what grades you want to/would be willing to teach... do you want PreK/K, or lower elementary... would you totally hate teaching 4th or 5th? I think your answers lie there.